Custody & Divorce
Kotten Law Firm handles marriage consultation, divorce and also motions for changes in custody.
A joint-divorce petitions is a divorce petition that both spouses have agreed on and will almost always save money, grief, stress and time. Kotten Law Firm has successfully handled joint-divorce petitions and also does marriage reconciliation for the struggling family.
Marriage License Brown County Minnesota
Marriage is a special promise and friendship that was created by God in order to last a lifetime. Making sure you are assured the special person you have been with is the one for you is key before taking the steps towards marriage. For God says in Mark 10:9, “Therefore what God has joined together, let no one separate.” Keeping a healthy marriage is the most important thing husbands and wives can do for their families to better God’s Kingdom of teaching the great news of salvation to the entire world.
The steps to creating a marriage that is binding for an entire life are quite simple in the state of Minnesota and Brown County. The first thing a couple should do is plan in advance. There is a five day waiting period for the marriage license application to be processed in the state of Minnesota. This five day waiting period may be waived if the couple appeals it to the court administration and the judge allows it. Some general requirements that need to be met involve purchasing the license before being married, be at least 18 years of age, both need to be present (at the same time is preferred), and it must be used within six months to be valid. Applicants must provide full names, address, date and place of birth, telephone numbers and social security numbers if they have one. They also need to provide after marriage names and residence. If applicants are previously divorced, then they must bring the divorce decree or decrees from previous marriages. The cost of the marriage license is $40 if the couple has completed at least 12 hours of premarital education. If they have not completed this standard, then they will be charged $115 for the license. In order to qualify for the reduced fee, the parties must submit a signed and dated statement from the person who provided the premarital education confirming that it was received. The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister’s designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes and must have business letterhead stationery, signed, and notarized. By signing the marriage document does not mean you have successfully changed your name. Women must legally change their last name. A way to do this is through an online kit like http://www.marriagenamechange.com/. A Brown county marriage application can be found under this link – https://www.co.brown.mn.us/images/stories/Departments/recorders/marriage_app_brco.pdf.
All of this information is provided to help the people in the state of Minnesota and Brown County in making a huge commitment to another human being that God has created. This process is quite simple to follow and very affordable, but keep in mind that this is a lifetime union that all are to hold until death. Every day couples should wake up to the words of Ephesians 4:2-3 which say, “Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the spirit through the bond of peace.”
© Kotten Law Firm LLC by: Glen A. Kotten Esq. and Grey J. Davis May 18, 2015